"Nasty blow, political instinct" Read the full letter
Collection Summary | View All |  Arrange By:
< Prev |
Viewing Item
of 103 | Next >
Letter ReferenceEdward Carpenter 359/39
ArchiveSheffield Archives, Archives & Local Studies, Sheffield
Epistolary TypeLetter
Letter Date21 March 1889
Address FromMentone, France
Address To
Who ToEdward Carpenter
Other VersionsRive 1987: 152
PermissionsPlease read before using or citing this transcription
The Project is grateful to the Sheffield Archives, Sheffield Libraries, Archives and Information Services, for kindly allowing us to transcribe this Olive Schreiner letter, which is part of its Archive Collections. The date has been written on this letter in an unknown hand. Schreiner stayed in Mentone from December 1888 to later March 1889 and left there for Paris.
1 My beautiful old Ed’ard
3 I have been clinging to you these last days as a little child clings
4to its mother. Some far off day to come it will be seen what a light
5you were, how far before your time.
7 I have been passing through much darkness, & when I have looked round
8the world for a ray of light, I have found you. Go on your path,
9Edward, my beautiful brother.
11 I am obliged to go to Paris on private business but don’t mention
12the fact to anyone.
14 I will write & give you my address when there.
16 Edward, pray for me. Talking isn’t of any use, but if you should let
17your thought go out to me, I think I should feel it.
19 Your little thing in W.P.P. is beautiful. I liked about the old
22 Edward, I want to love always the poorest, lowliest natures. You are
23right, they are nearer God.
25 Olive
27 There is something wrong, something all wrong in this life of ours. I
28have so much to learn.
The 'little things' refers to a part of Carpenter's Towards Democracy. See: Edward Carpenter (1885) Towards Democracy Manchester: John Heywood; and the 'little thing' is: Edward Carpenter "The Mother to Her Daughter" Women's Penny Paper vol 1 no 21, 16 March 1889, pp.6-7. Rive's (1987) version omits part of this letter.