"Plan for 'woman book'" Read the full letter
Collection Summary | View All |  Arrange By:
< Prev |
Viewing Item
of 1895 | Next >
Letter ReferenceOlive Schreiner BC16/Box7/Fold3/Jan-Feb1920/7
ArchiveUniversity of Cape Town, Manuscripts & Archives, Cape Town
Epistolary TypeLetter
Letter DateTuesday 13 January 1920
Address From9 Porchester Place, Edgware Road, Westminster, London
Address To
Who ToMay Murray Parker nee Murray
Other Versions
PermissionsPlease read before using or citing this transcription
The Project is grateful to Manuscripts and Archives, University of Cape Town, for kindly allowing us to transcribe this Olive Schreiner letter, which is part of its Manuscripts and Archives Collections. The date has been written on this letter in an unknown hand. Schreiner was resident at Porchester Place from early April 1917 until August 1920, when she left Britain for South Africa.
1Tues day
4Darling May,
6Betty has asked me to send this letter on to you. I fear Alice is very
7bad. When I hear the end has come I shall if possible go down to
8Cornwall to come up with Betty unless she comes up at once. I will
9explain to her about Miss Dingle: but I almost doubt her wishing to go
10at once to Llandrindod. I think she will feel she is helped most by
11going to lectures & seeing people & throwing herself into things On
12the other hand it would be such an immense help to her to see you.
13Would it be possible for you to come for a few days here? Of course
14she may stand it all better than one fears; but you don’t know how
15she collapsed when she heard of George’s death.
17Much love to you dear