"Victoria Falls fill one with joy" Read the full letter
Collection Summary | View All |  Arrange By:
< Prev |
Viewing Item
of 154 | Next >
Letter ReferenceKarl Pearson 840/4/2/42
ArchiveUniversity College London Library, Special Collections, UCL, London
Epistolary TypePostcard
Letter Date17 March 1886
Address FromBournemouth, Dorset
Address To2 Harcourt Buildings, Temple, London
Who ToKarl Pearson
Other Versions
PermissionsPlease read before using or citing this transcription
Legend
The Project is grateful to University College London (UCL) and its Library Services for kindly allowing us to transcribe this Olive Schreiner postcard, which is part of its Special Collections. The date has been derived from the postmark on this postcard, while the name of the addressee and the address it was sent to are on its front. Schreiner was resident at two addresses in Bournemouth from mid February to mid March 1886.
1 I want much to write notes on paper, but don’t like to keep it
2longer now. Please send it back to me some time. Please would you
3think if the writer would not mind (if it’s Mrs Caird, I’m sure
4she would not) send it to Dr Donkin to read. He will return it the
5next day. It would be a favour to me if you see your way to do it. All
6the cases the writer gives go for nothing because she does not give
7all the circumstances in any one.
8
9 O.S.
10
11 I will send you my address at South-Bourne as soon as I know it myself.
12
13
14
15
Notation
The paper Schreiner wants to write notes on is probably Emma Brooke's February 1886 response to Pearson's 'The Woman's Question', entitled 'Notes on a man's view of the woman's question'; this was intended for the Men and Women?s Club but in the event only Schreiner and Pearson saw her paper.