"Woman question secondary to native question" Read the full letter
Collection Summary | View All |  Arrange By:
< Prev |
Viewing Item
of 1895 | Next >
Letter ReferenceOlive Schreiner BC16/Box6/Fold1/July-Dec1915/38
ArchiveUniversity of Cape Town, Manuscripts & Archives, Cape Town
Epistolary TypeLetter
Letter DateFriday 5 November 1915
Address From2 Campden Hill Square, Kensington, London
Address To
Who ToWilliam Philip ('Will') Schreiner
Other Versions
PermissionsPlease read before using or citing this transcription
The Project is grateful to Manuscripts and Archives, University of Cape Town, for kindly allowing us to transcribe this Olive Schreiner letter, which is part of its Manuscripts and Archives Collections. The date has been written on this letter in an unknown hand.
12 Campden Hill Square, W.
4Dear Will
6I am leaving on Wednesday; just for Bude in north Cornwall, & if it
7doesn’t suit me to try a place called Lyne Regis in Devonshire. Miss
has a little cottage at Bude. She hop hopes to leave in a
9couple of weeks for Rome, for the winter, - she has a flat there - &
10if she goes I will perhaps hire her little cottage & take over her
11servant. I will be a bit lonesome there, but if I get well enough to
12work nothing matters
14I was X rayed this morning & the man says the dentist has left a large
15bit of my tooth in my jaw which I must have abstracted on Monday. I
16have no faith in these dentists & Doctors they only want to make money
17out of you. The X ray man charges £2.2 for four minutes work; & I
18told the dentist there was a bit of tooth in. Its sickening. I hope it
19goes better with your teeth than with mine.
21Love to Fan. Please tell her I found my eye-glasses in Barker’s shop.
22 Please let me know if you have news of our boy.
24If you have that little poem I cut out of the Westminster & sent you,
25please return it it me in enclosed.
27Thine ever